

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

January 17, 2018, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Dr. Bo Hannaford, Dr. Mylo Miller, Phredd Evans and Secretary of Education Dave Lopez
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Bruce Day
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt and Jerry Shay
VISITORS:	Dr. Julie Angle, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Robin Fuxa, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Jerry Stout, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Dr. Pam Brown, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dr. Teresa DeBacker, Oklahoma University

Call to Order: Secretary of Education Dave Lopez called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary of Education Dave Lopez asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Page 1 of 3

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting. Dr. Daniel Craig introduced new Commission member, Secretary of Education Dave Lopez.

Approval of Minutes from the October 24, 2017 Commission Meeting: Mr. Brown made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 24, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Discussion and action on Program recommended for approval by the Program Review Advisory Board- Masters of Arts in Teaching, Secondary Science. Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve new program area for Oklahoma State University- Masters of Arts in Teaching, Secondary Science. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	abstain		

Discussion and action on reappointment of Dr. Paul Hammond and Dr. Deborah Traywick to the Program Review Advisory Board: Mr. Brown made a motion to reappoint Dr. Paul Hammond and Dr. Deborah Traywick to the Program Review Advisory Board. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for Southeastern Oklahoma State University: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve continued State Accreditation for Southeastern Oklahoma State University for seven years. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	abstain		

Discussion and action on State Accreditation for Southwestern Christian University: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to continue State Accreditation for Southwestern Christian University for the next five years. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	abstain		

Discussion and action on Adoption of proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10. Mr. Brown made a motion to approve the adoption of the proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Quality and Accountability program updates included: The University of Tulsa, National Board, School Profile Survey, Praxis Performance Assessment for Teachers, School Performance Reviews, Annual Report 2017 and Program Review Advisory Board.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Craig announced that there may be need for a February Commission meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 2:53 P.M. The minutes of the January 17, 2018 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on March 14, 2018.

Signed:

Dave Lopez, Chairman

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director